How to move a sub Project Workspace to another programme site.

Introduction

This blog details how to move the WSS workspace between sub-sites. This may occur if a project is moved between programmes (setting up a programme is discussed in this  blog here http://appleparkltd.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!EB0688A7A6F04E1D!307.entry 

Process Overview

By default, Microsoft Office Project Professional 2007 creates a project workspace site on Windows SharePoint Services 3.0 when it publishes a project. When a sub-project creates a workspace, the user has the option of also creating the project workspace as a sub-site of the programme. This creates a hierarchy of sites as shown in Figure 1, where Programme1 has two sub projects (A & B), and Programme2 has two sub projects (C & D).

clip_image002

Figure 1 – Programme and PRoject Workspace relationships

If Project C is moved between programmes (due to reorganisation or setup issues) then the WSS site by default  not moved. The following steps show how to move the WSS site. The example will show Project C moving to be part of Programme1 (Figure 2).

clip_image005

Figure 2 – Project C has become part of Programme1

In order to move the Project C sub-site to sit beside Projects A & B it is necessary to perform the following steps.

1. Export the original site to a file

2. Create a new site as a placeholder for the migrated site

3. Import the original site to the new placeholder site

4. Change the site address to reflect the new site in the Manage SharePoint Sites page

5. Delete the original site

Export the original site to a file

On the Project server, open a command window and navigate to the following location

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\BIN

Type in the following command

stsadm –o export –url <url> -filename <filename>

The <url> is the url of the site that you wish to export and the filename is the output file.

When the command has finished there should be a file called <filename>.cmp in the directory.

Create a new site as a placeholder

Navigate to the programme workspace where the new project is to be located, and create a new sub-site from the site actions tab. The site that you create must be a Project Workspace, and for ease, the URL name should match the original URL. Finally check the radio button so that the site is not displayed in the quick launch area.

clip_image008

Figure 3 – Create the new placeholder site

Verify that the new site has been successfully created by accessing it.

clip_image011

Figure 4 – Verify The new site is created – Note the Breadcrumb showing Programme1

clip_image014

Figure 5 – The three subsites now show under the Programme1 workspace

Import the original site into the new site

Once the new site has been created, it is time to import the exported data from the original site. This is a similar process to the original export.

On the Project server open a command window and navigate to the following location

C:\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\web server extensions\12\BIN

Type in the following command

stsadm –o import –url <url> -filename <filename>

The <url> is the url of the site that you wish to import and the filename is the input file.

When the command has finished, refresh the new project workspace site and check that the new content exists.

clip_image018

Figure 6 – Note the imported content on the new site

Change the site address to reflect the new site in the Manage SharePoint Sites page

In order to link the new site to the project, it is necessary to change the site address. In PWA, navigate to Server Settings | Project Workspaces. Select the relevant workspace and click on Edit Site Address. Modify the address so that it points to the new Project Workspace within the correct programme.

clip_image020

Figure 7 – Modify the site address to reflect the new site

Once the site address has been modified, click on Synchronise to update the permissions on the new site.

Delete the original site

The original site still exists and so it needs to be deleted in order to remove it from the original programme. Navigate to the site, and within Site Actions | Site Settings and then Delete this site. Caution, ensure that you are deleting the right sub-site, and not the programme site

Share

Comments are closed.